The Spider games | Nostalgia

I was going in our garden shed to get some tools then I noticed something in the bush beside it. For a moment I thought it was just a ball of cobweb but looking closely enough I noticed something. It’s a spider caught up in its webbings or something that I am not familiar with. I’ve heard that these creepers are on sight especially in Autumn here in Germany . The color of the spider itself is new to me, a light yellow with tints of black and the size is almost as big as my thumb. Not the kind of spiders I want to mess up with.

img_2529
Spider games

When I told my husband about this, He was shocked.Spider fighting is your worst nightmare come true. This ghastly sport takes place in the Philippines and is popular among children although it has attracted a large adult audience as well. The rules are pretty simple. The arachnids are placed on a stick and shoved toward each other until they start fighting. If a spider falls off the stick three times, it loses. If a spider gets wrapped up in its opponent’s webbing, it loses. And of course, a spider match can always result in death. This is one of those situations where winning really is everything.Pretty  simple but exciting,right?

img_2530
Spider in the bush 

Looking at this spider brings me back to the distant past of my childhood. At one moment I felt the nostalgic feeling of being a child again. In the place where I grew up, Spider games is a part of any childhood , especially for little boys. Yes, you heard that right, playing with spiders, it’s like a cock fight, a boxing match of spiders. Having a bet on which one would knock-out the other. These spiders are normally house spiders that crept on ceiling, or in the plants. They are trained to fight. Sounds crazy but this is true. If you’re afraid of spiders then you can’t even watch how they murder each other.They are not the poisonous ones like Tarantulas etc. It’s the kind of game I used to watch my cousins,( mostly boys) are playing. We used to keep the spiders in a small box of an empty matchboxes. I remember that one of my cousin has 5-6 boxes with his ‘pet’and always waiting for a suitable opponent.There’s an art to catching the right spider. Kids wake up early in the morning to hunt for future champions, and the best fighters are said to be the ones living on electric power lines

Such nostalgia from my childhood.

img_2548
Only in the Philippines : Playing with spiders ( Image source: Google)

I grew up in a place where the only high-tech game on hand is the brick game, with few Super Mario and Nintendo. We don’t have the money to buy Lego, walking Dolls, PSP or Xbox yet, the Apps  for Candy Crush or Clash of Clans (COC), or even a computer which we can play PacmanWarcraft or Starcraft. We don’t have these luxury yet during those times. As children, we contend ourselves by playing outdoors, climbing trees, running through the rice fields, playing ‘Patintero’ which we draw lines using water during full moon, playing ‘Piko’  & ‘ Chinese Garter ‘right after school in the playground, and if its raining, we just slouch on the floor and play ‘Jackstones‘. These are my favorite traditional games.

Nowadays,childhood games have evolved into something else. My daughter’s favorite is playing with her Papa’s old toys like the wooden Bike, Duplo blocks & Legos or just playing in the sand and pebbles. I find them quite special too because they are old toys where my husband used to play with when he was at her age. But kids nowadays have access to more modern toys and entertainment like the smartphones & iPad.

Yes, time has changed our generation. But Nostalgia keeps us coming back to the past. To the old place and old toys that we had that brought joy and happiness in its simplest form. Nostalgia is sweet page to flip on, just like the spiders in the boxes, but let it be there, just a memory to cherish on.

 

This post is in response to this week’s Photo Challenge |Nostalgia.

 

Leave a Reply

