Painting through Pandemic (Art +Work)

My own Artwork hangs in one corner of our little apartment

If there´s something nice, memorable and practical that came out of this Pandemic, I would say that its my Artwork. During Lockdown and everything, I coudn´t survived it without painting. I had made many Artworks, busied myself with lots of painting and making cards , and even more digesting DIY craft things.At home, I don´t need to wear mask, and I don´t worry about social distancing.I normally paint alone, solitary and always been sticking to my hobby journal.My Supplies are not that fancy, yes they could be expensive but then these Artist-grade materials are made to last .

I managed to sell quite of them, which I am super grateful.Grateful to those people who managed to appreciate my artwork and go to lengths of buying them…yes, even in the time of Pandemic. People who bought Art during Corona times are heaven´s sent…they are truly a blessing!

I mean, why would you buy an Art during Pandemic?

It means I could get more new Art supplies and paints, every penny counts!And the great thing about it, I have decided to fully embraced my life to be totally creative and doing everything handmade.I can´t recall the time that I bought from a store a card or decorative art piece or something….all the things I sent to my friends and families are all handmade.This thing called Art talent is in me so I am going to use it as long as its in me.Better to nourish it, than lose it.

Blue , gold and lots of Texture are very dominant in this piece

I have lots of unfinished paintings that sits in our bedroom and in other parts of the house.I don´t have enough space to place them but looking at them is just okay.It reminds me that I need to work on them once the inspiration kicks.The great thing about being a self taught Artist is that I never thought of myself being contained in one idea.I am actually free in my techniques and I can easily adapt to the basics and Art essentials whether its the form, color, size, gradient and intensity.I can use whatever medium I would like and not feeling guilty. That should be Art be….Free, brave and bold!

A relentless pursuit of making my artwork better and more soulful is what driving me to persevere.If I am going to do something in my life until the day I grow old then it would be this.I would be painting lots and lots of Abstract pieces, and get edgy with watercolor.When I stayed at home and the schools are closed, I struggled a lot to find time for myself.I tried running more, doing it more often despite of the cold weather and it helped me a lot to managed my stress.But nothing beats when I finished a painting…

I watched online what other people are doing and I am always inspired. i think its like Blogging, nothing really happens when you don´t do anything.People won´t read yours if you don´t write.So I guess that no matter what, keep on writing, keep on doing something that gives you life.

People got into gardening, which I have been very interested since I came here in Germany.Plants had become my children. Living with plants had change my life as well and I don´t think I can´t live without my plants either. Some call it funny but hey, it is something that plant lovers only understand.I have a devoted time for them and it´s my second nature to see any plant problem with my naked eyes.I think the top expenditures I have is my painting materials, then comes plants, and the rest are just plain bubble of life´s journey.

Art is a language that not all understand.I remember in my childhood days that not everyone in my class are good in drawing.I was helping my daughter with a drawing in our Homeschooling the other day and it really struck me like lightning.She is crying and telling me ” I want to have a life like you, I can´t draw that good, but I wanted to…I can´t draw cars, and my drawing of people sucks..” I note an agony in there. Art is misunderstood. It becomes a chore now, a homework to be done, a task that needs to be completed.

Naturally Art can be learned and even a kids artwork is a masterpiece, but the thing is, not everyone can really understands it, let alone Abstract pieces.I stopped worrying about Art. I just let myself go, and express what I think, what I feel and what my visions are.As I decide on which colors I used, the brush and pinsels, and the mediums that I will incorporate, there I am learning to communicate with my canvas.

Sometimes the communication within the painting is not clear, the subject is surreal, the colors are not complementing each other, it looked like a mess. There are many times I needed to breathe in and stop. making breaks and a pause so I can make everything fall into pieces into their form and gradients.Too much or less less texture it doesn´t matter.In the end, I can only say that the painting is done.

I knew it exactly when its time to drop the brush.

Nothing was easy during this Pandemic.It´s almost now in a year.This coming Spring we don´t know yet if life returns to normal, amid the long wait for vaccines and zero new infections.I have learned that ” nothing happens when you´re not working…”

Many times , out of frustration, I called myself a FAILED ARTIST. I failed many times and I almost give up. I doubted my own capabilities and become ungrateful of my talent. I stopped drawing, and I did not paint for a while.The end result : I lose. I became more frustrated and I learned to survived. This Pandemic have taught me to go back to my passion, to what really means to live, to give more to others…

Quitting is never really an answer.I always tell the people who buy my paintings that every painting has its story.Every single piece is really unique.One piece can take a year, one masterpiece can be done in 20 minutes. Everything has its own story and that I spent many hours in my kitchen painting and in isolation.I have made many different life changing stories there in my kitchen countertop, creating something that came out from my own world.So when I packed a painting to its new home, I always write ” Thank you for giving my Art their new Home…”

Painting through Pandemic is a radical step to being vulnerable.That creating something should not be hindered by isolation and stress.I learned that through my art, I have known things ,not until I have seen and made them.Art creates and dissolves boundaries and even through crisis and stressful situations, I could make Art.

If you have more time to kill, Here´s more of my Art Journey ;

My very own DIY Bamboo Lamps

Fluid Art is the new Art

Fluid Painting , Malachite Hues

Faces in the Crowd, my watercolour´s Journey

Little Women Mosaic Aquarell Artwork series

11 thoughts on “Painting through Pandemic (Art +Work)

  1. I’m glad you found your way back to your passion. It’s true that not everyone understands art or abstracts. I don’t understand abstracts and would not know when to stop if I was painting them – then again I’m a messy painter. I can draw but I can’t paint. Your abstracts speak to me somehow and I truly like them a lot! They look very high end, very expensive and in your photos they look great in your apartment too! The blue ones make me think of tropical seas… I also love the gold. keep going!!!! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No way are you a failure! Your art is beautiful and I admire your skills and perseverance. It takes patience and dedication to hone a craft. Keep enjoying both your love of art and your garden, I’ve found solace in mine too during this time. 💜🌈

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.